PDA

View Full Version : Immunization Questions

Love&care
11-03-2017, 07:37 PM
Hi,

I am writing my contract for my family daycare. I am new in Canada. I just found out immunization is voluntary in BC. What will you do if you find out some kids doesn't have any vaccine? Will you take a child who doesn't have any vaccine?

kindredspirit
11-04-2017, 07:21 AM
They are voluntary in my province as well. I try to figure out the reasoning (without sounding like it matters). If it's for allergies or medical reasons (preemies, organ issues) then I accept them because all my other children are immunized, so the child that couldn't get the shots benefits from herd immunity. If someone tells me they didn't get them because vaccines are a conspiracy or they don't want autism, then I do not accept the child (and I don't tell them why) because I would anticipate further issues dealing with that parent.

Suzie_Homemaker
11-04-2017, 09:47 AM
Hi,

I am writing my contract for my family daycare. I am new in Canada. I just found out immunization is voluntary in BC. What will you do if you find out some kids doesn't have any vaccine? Will you take a child who doesn't have any vaccine?

They are voluntary here too and it's scary how many people do not immunize. This is something I feel very strongly about as we have a little girl in our lives who has a compromised immune system and relies on herd immunity.

It is my policy that all children are fully immunised here. No exceptions. Client's are required to bring their immunisation records when they start here and they are required to provide proof of immunization during their time here as their child reaches the milestones for the next round of immunizations. This is a very personal decision and it's entirely up to you what you do.