Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

2 hour morning drop-off program

Hi All!

I am thinking of starting a morning drop-in program. I have heard it called "Mother's Morning Out". We do not seem to have any of these in our area of Ottawa.

My plan is to run a 2 hour drop-in program (9-11am) with daily activities and a BYOsnack time. I would charge 20$ a drop-in, for children 18 months+ and have 3 spots available (I have my own 16 month old).

I am looking for advice and suggestions. Will there be any profit in this or will the overhead cost be too much?

I was originally thinking of starting my own home daycare, I have 10+ years experience working in preschools and as a nanny. However, I am too overwhelmed with the idea of opening a full-time daycare and caring for my own daughter at the same time and am thinking this might be a good alternative......

Outgoing
    Hi Kelliann,

That's a wonderful idea. But, I'm not sure we're are you located in Ottawa close to downtown we have many programs "preschools" that basically take children in as young as 18 or 20 moths old. Another program similar is offered by mothercraft "respite care", about the rates I'm not sure how much they charge. But $20 seems fair in your case.

Another thing to consider is the general ratio, if it is in your home it's only 5 kids including yours and obviously the ages starting in July 1st. It would be legal to have there under three.

Analizing that kind of option I think it won't create an steasy income. Unless you have and fill up your spots with clients that will take your services in a regular basis ex. Once or twice a week.