Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Back up Care and errands

I was wondering if home child care providers usually provide back up care if they are sick or unavailable. For example maybe a neighbour, friend or family member who is willing to take the providers children on an occasional basis for illness or family emergency. Do the parents meet these people ahead of time?

Also, do home child care providers take the children on occasional errands, appointments?

I am new to this so I am just wondering what the "norm" is. Thanks in advance for any advice, input.
    Last edited by loveskids; 03-04-2012 at 07:41 AM.

If i cannnot book for after hours and do not want to 'close' for a full day for something that will take an hour tops than my spouse and mother have helped out for planned appointments for me - which I try to book during nap time so not too much work for them - I make this clear in the interview and give a heads up again prior to it happening or if I can book for the end of day I will close a bit early to allow transport to appointment.

As for "errands" unless it is something WORK related I do not generally run personal errands during work hours - so for example if we are going to play group on Friday I might do the drive through bank en route and do my deposit and my daycare crew helps with menu planning and sometimes I take them to the grocery store to help pick out foods around our letter of the week or special supplies for a craft for Mothers Day and so forth ...so in moderation and again with disclosure to clients beforehand.