Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Starting to feel at home...

Charging parents for holidays

I'm new to daycare and currently do not charge parents for my 3 weeks vacation time. What are other providers doing about this? I feel like it's not fair to parents to have them pay for child care when they are not here. But on the other hand is it fair that we don't have paid vacation? Most employers in the real world offer this as a benefit. Shouldn't we have our own perks, after all its our business?Torn and still feel parents shouldn't pay. Any suggestions, or thoughts on this?

Starting to feel at home...
    I have always had my parents pay for vacation time. I take two weeks, stat holidays and six floater sick days. I also email my vacation sheet for the whole following year in November. Parents never have less than two months notice of days off and about eight or ten months of my holidays. I find that most of my parents can then take holidays the same time I do.

All of my parents have found this to be quite reasonable. It is all about finding people that value their provider.

Administrator Starting to feel at home... admin's Avatar
    Hi Jenn !

I think that, one way or another, parents will end up paying for your holidays. If you do not charge them directly, your monthly rate will go up so that you can afford to go on holidays without worrying about not getting any income during those days. If you do charge for your holidays, your rate will stay low, but parents will pay during your holidays.

In the end, it really depends about what parents are confortable with. Maybe advertising a lower rate can bring more customers though; but will they find that you're "exagerating" for asking them to pay for your vacations ?

Hello Jenn,