Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Outgoing

How do you deal with "Drama Queens"?

I have been caring for a little dcg for about 6 months now. She has been a difficult child from the start. Something is ALWAYS going on with this child. She still cries a lot (often because she doesn't get her own way), and I just put her in a different room until she stops, because it disrupts the other children. I dread the days it is just her and my son because they just egg each other on and I pretty much have to deal with two whining/crying children the entire day. She always wants to be held (which I refuse to do) and as a result, she whines and cries.
    Have any of you experienced a child like this? What have you done to try and curb this behaviour?
    I've tried ignoring, putting her is a different room, etc... but nothing seems to work. It is exhausting to deal with and I often feel like terminating on this alone, but it just doesn't seem like enough to get rid of someone....

Expansive...
    How old is she?

I had a drama queen (3 yrs) who pitched fits about small things like needing to keep her socks on, which barbie she got to play with, what we served for lunch etc. She is an only child and could do NOTHING for herself when she first started with me because Mom and Dad babied her so much. They catered to her every move. It definitely took awhile before she learned the ropes around here, but has settled in nicely! Once she cried for an hour because she wasn't first to go down the slide when we went outside. I told her to go finish her crying on the chair and boy did she keep it up! But I ignored her and did fun things with the kids so she really missed out. After missing out quite a bit because of her attitude, she slowly but surely came around! Good luck!

Euphoric !