Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

Is this normal behaviour?

I have been doing home daycare for a few months now and it has been going pretty smoothly. I find that my daycare kids behave better than my own kids because I am not "mom", just as my kids would be perfect angels for someone else. However, I just started with a 3 year old girl last week and she is a handful. I can only imagine how she must act at home. She tests me at every turn. She screams at the top of her lungs at library because she doesnt want to share the toys they put out for the kids. She refuses to use her manners. She refuses to eat. She screams at quiet time. I know she is testing me but I am wondering if this is normal behaviour or if something else is going on with her.

Might be 'normal' for her .... children behave inappropriately for lots of reasons but it is certainly socially unacceptable either way ~ what do the parents say about the behavior when you tell them? What are their expectations for her around these times of the day she is struggling - aka has she been expected to share, expected to lay quietly and so forth before coming to your program? How do they handle behavior at home?
    Children construct their own intelligence. The adult must provide activities and context, but most of all must be able to listen. Children need proof that adults believe in them. Their three great desires are to be listened to, to understand, and to demonstrate that they are exactly what we expect."
    Loris Malaguzzi

Euphoric !