Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Starting to feel at home...

Combine family/personal grocery bill and daycare food or seperate for income tax

Hi Ladies! This is my first year (well first week!!) doing home daycare and I am really nervous about income tax time! I have never been "self employed" and I am so scared I am going to have to pay a lot of money at tax time because money isn't being taken off my cheque for taxes...can anyone reassure me?! Should I be putting money away each month to use at tax time?! I have no idea how all this government stuff works with CPP and other taxes I will no longer be paying into...

I am also wondering, I know I can write off a lot of receipts but when it comes to groceries, do you pay for your families groceries/personal items separate and then you daycare food items? Or do you just buy everything at once and submit that one grocery bill? I am not sure how it works...

Thanks so much for the advice!!

The best thing I ever did to reduce my 'fear' of taxes was to take a Home Childcare tax prep course through the Ontario Early Years centre as well as I invested my first two years in an accountant who helped me set up my record keeping and show me the ropes to let me fly on my own.

IMU you do not have to buy everything separate ~ you just need a reasonable way to prove to CRA in an audit how you decided how much was 'daycare expense' over 'personal expense' in regards to groceries cause unfortunately you cannot claim what you or your family eat as a 'daycare expense' so need a way to separate it out.