Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Snacks

Starting to feel at home...

Snacks

Hello All!
    This is my first post, I have been doing home child care for 61/2 years now. My current group is a great bunch, but I am curious about how other daycare providers handle snacks. My morning snack is more breakfast like ( 1/2 bagel and fruit, or egg and toast, or cereal and fruit etc) lately I have three dck (two 2 yr olds and 1 three year old) they always want more snack, but never eat their lunch. I have decided that 1 serving at snack is enough, we will eat lunch in less then three hours, they will not starve. However they still wont eat lunch, but then as soon as nap is over, bugging for snack and always want more then 1 serving. Afternoon snacks are typically, cheese and crackers, or graham crackers and apple sauce, or fruit and yogurt etc. My snacks always consist of two parts, are always a full serving or more (for toddlers) My lunches are not crazy fancy, but they are not typical kids junk lunch (I rarely serve hot dogs or fries, or grilled cheese, but rather a real meal, todays lunch is tuna casserole, side salad, roll and cantalope....I guess my question is, do you restrict snack to just one serving? and for me to do that is that too strict? In the past I haven't had an issue with kids not eating their lunch so I never felt I needed to hold back on snack. Thoughts?
    Last edited by MsBell; 01-17-2013 at 11:09 AM.

Starting to feel at home...