Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Starting to feel at home...

Caring for a child with a hearing impairment...

Have any of you ever provided care for a child with a hearing impairment? I have been caring for a dck for almost 5 months. The child does wear hearing aids and can hear me, for the most part. Dcp found out that eventually the hearing aids will not work and they are now learning sign language. I also agreed to allow the teachers to come here and provide me with lessons. Hey, I am always up for learning and was always fascinated with sign language. I even used many signs with my own child when she was very, very young.

All this being said, at times I feel like I am lacking in all sorts of areas in providing care for this child. I felt at points the child's developmental skills were stagnant and I wasn't noticing any progress. Whereas the other kids I care for were conquering leaps and bounds. Ever since the "pros" have been working with this family the child has substantially progressed. I struggle with the idea of terminating and encouraging this family to find another provider who has experience with someone with a hearing impairment. I truly feel this will benefit the entire family.

I have subtly talked about it with dcm, but she says the family and dck love it here. I am trying to find more resources and techniques I can use to help child and I always implement the things the "pros" suggest. They are excellent tips and have in fact worked! I just constantly feel this internal struggle, because I know dck would do much better with someone who already has experience in this area.

Just reaching out if anyone else has been in this situation.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to SecondAve For This Useful Post:

Outgoing