Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Starting to feel at home...

Question Question About Taxes.

Hi Everyone,

I'm very new to the daycare scene. I just started up at the end of march.
    I am hoping you can all give me helpful points and tips for taxes next year.
    I am currently putting away between 25-30% of the total amount I make a month.

Is that enough, is it too much?
    I have been saving all receipts for everything I buy. And saving all the household bills

Just wanting advice on anything and everything I could possibly claim!!

Thanks

I would say that is definitely enough....but really, there are so many factors that play into it that it's hard to say for sure. It would be helpful to at least talk to an accountant and get a better idea of what to expect. Also, you will be required to pay your own Canada Pension contributions since you will be self-employed.
    Yes, definitely save your receipts, you can claim a portion of some of your household expenses (power, heat, property taxes, etc) if you run your daycare in your family home. Food and drinks, wipes, toilet paper, etc. Craft supplies, cleaning products. You can also claim a portion of the cost of "capital" expenses like a stroller or crib.
    I do my own taxes (I worked in accounting in my previous job), but I only claim current expenses, not capital as I can't be bothered depreciating a $100 stroller over 5 years...and I have a very small set up and hardly ever buy big ticket items, the last "investment" I made was a laminator and it was $30
    I'm sure there will be others on here who can give you more info on how to claim all the deductions you are entitled to!