Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

How long to hold out before lowing daycare prices?

I've been asking myself this question for a month now and I am no closer to the answer. I was wondering your thoughts?

I am one of the more expensive caregivers in my area at $47 a day where the average on daycare bear seems to be between $38 - 42. I have noticed that some are at $45. When I look at the CCPRN questionnaire for my area it states that last years averages for my area is $30 - 50. My rates have always been on the high end of average because I have over 20 years experience, my youngest is 15 years old, I have my ECE (I technically am RECE, but money has been a bit tight this year so I'm in suspension). I'll be renewing it in the fall. I think most caregivers have programming, so I'm really no different there. I have a basement daycare with it's own entrance, open door policy, etc;.

I haven't had a space in over 2 years, so I'm a bit rusty with advertising and interviewing. I have had a couple of interviews and I can tell you that things are very different from even 2 years ago. I completely bombed them.

The hardest part is, my area has been hit, for almost 3 years now, there has been more caregivers than children and it is very difficult to stay full. I've seen good daycare's close.

I'm now hearing other caregivers say that parents have so much control that they are now telling daycare providers that they 'will provide a discount or they will find someone else' (a friend received one yesterday asking for a $10 a day reduction) or the parents are coming up with their own policies for the caregiver to follow or they go somewhere else. Frequently, I hear caregivers are lowing their rates or agreeing to no paid holidays. Which might explain why 2 years ago it seemed like everyone was at 45.