Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

Excited to meet you!

Hello Ladies,
    I am very new to the Childcare industry as I am currently trying to open a Home Daycare in September. I am a Mother to an amazing 17 month old boy and I am also a certified French Teacher. I have decided to combine my two passions (teaching & my son) and join the Daycare career! I live in the Lawrence Ave E and Mt. Pleasant Rd. area and I am nervous I am going to have a hard time filling my openings. Do you have any suggestions on the best ways to advertise? I would love to chat with anyone who has experience in this area.
    Thanks,
    Courtney

Outgoing
    Welcome to the industry and also to the forum!
    I have only been doing daycare since March of this year.
    I advertised through Kijiji and have had alot of luck. I have filled 5 spots in 3 months this way.
    You could advertise as a bilingual daycare and find even more success that way!
    Do not undercharge just because you are new!! (Like many of us have done when just starting out! - me included!)
    I have a 16 month old son, and expecting a second in October. Its a busy job, but very rewarding!

Shy
    Thanks so much! I have put an ad on Kijiji for the last two weeks, but no replies yet. I'll keep trying!

Try putting posters/flyers on mailboxes, at grocery stores, libraries, local community centres. Also bring them into the schools in your area - you never know of a parent walking through that needs daycare for their kids or the teacher that wants their little one close to work!

Good luck!

Starting to feel at home...