Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

High Needs/Very Sensitive DC Toddler

Hi All,

I just signed up for the Forum but I've been browsing posts for over a year

Looking for tips and/or advice.

I have a 17mth old DC child that I've been caring for for almost 5 months now. She had A LOT of seperation anxiety when she first started the daycare and it got much worse before it finally settled down just over 2 months into it. She is VERY vocal about her dislikes and eventhough you tend to her and meet her needs, once she starts crying, it usually last at least a few minutes. All was good for a couple of months and then BAM it's been one thing after another since.

-She is also a child that does not like any other kids in her personal bubble (eventhough mom and dad socialized her very well from birth)
    -She would wake up during nap screaming at the top of her lungs, the first few times I'd go in and rock her back to sleep because this was abnormal but mom and I finally decided to let her work it out on her own since it was getting worse and at night too. She eventually worked it out
    -She screams bloody murder if another DC child goes near her or her toys. I've read up on this and try reassuring her that it's ok, no one is going to hurt her but it's getting worse and now my 15month old is starting to run to her and grab her face when she's screaming, possibly from being annoyed that she's screaming all the time or taking most of the attention? I'm not sure so now I have two crying toddlers because I obviously try to show my toddler that she can't grab another child's face like that. Hard to get words accross over that noise.