Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

Opening Home Daycare - Question about licensing...

Hello everyone,

I am new to all of this. I am a mom of a 6 month old boy. I have been thinking of opening up a home daycare instead of returning to work when my maternity leave comes to an end. I have my ECE Diploma and am registered with the college of Early Childhood Educators.

I have a question regarding home daycares and licensing. I am aware that if I run a home day care and have less than 5 children it can be unlicensed.

I live in Toronto and our place is much too small to run a small daycare. We rent out the main floor of a house. If I find a house to rent (similar to the set-up I currently have) and run my daycare from that house but not live there can this be done or do I then have to be licensed as it is not in my own home?

Any guidance would be much appreciated.

Euphoric !
    My understanding is that it has more to do with the caregiver then the house e.g. 5 kids of non parentage (in addition to your own). I understand what you are saying about small spaces in Toronto. I don't know if this is a wise move though. The business fluctuates greatly at times and if you need to make a certain amount just to pay off a daycare expense (rent) each month in addition to your families bills etc it may not be viable. The market is particularly rocky at the moment and we are unsure what will be happening down the road re: licensed vs unlicensed. The business may not be viable at all in a yr or two for any of us.

What about just renting a larger space for your family and run it from your home? One of the major perks of this job is the commute; do you really want to mess with that?

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to torontokids For This Useful Post:

Euphoric !