Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

Opening in just a week and worried about wether I have everything!!

Hi everyone,
    I'm new to this and I have a daycare friend that says this is a great spot for questions and answers.
    My home daycare opens in just under a week and I'm worried I don't have everything I might need. Any helpful suggestions on how to keep track of what is needed or maybe things you wouldn't think of needing but did?
    Thanks for the help

First rule of daycare - have a contract
    Second rule of daycare - apply the contract at all times

Did you get the first rule? HAVE A CONTRACT!

If you don't have one I would be happy to send you mine. Simply PM me with your email address.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Judy Trickett For This Useful Post:

Euphoric !
    also in that contract make sure and get paid in advance!! so payday this Friday for the following 2 weeks of care!

5. The Following User Says Thank You to mickyc For This Useful Post:

Euphoric !
    How many kids will you start with the first week? I opened beginning of January and I am still adding to my must haves. I eased the kids in one at a time and everyday realized there was more I needed to function smoothly and with ease.

As long as you have food, diapers and sleep covered the rest will fall into place with some time. As the others mentioned that contract is crucial. One of my families is a lawyer and the dad was thoroughly impressed with how my contract covered everything that could possibly arise. I'm sure things will arise and I'll be adding to it but it sets the tone for the families. The prepaid care is important too. So many issues are prevented with having them pay the Friday for the following 2 weeks of care. I also get post-dated cheques so I don't have to hunt down my pay.