Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Colours

Outgoing

Colours

Hi,
    I've mentioned before, but it never hurts to say it again. I'm still pretty new at this. I feel like I've only just got my daycare room set up the way I want. So up until now, I've been working on getting a good flow throughout the day. Now that I'm more comfortable, and the kids are getting older, I want to do more themes and activities. I have a group that is all around 2, other than one 13 month old.
    My own daughter and the oldest boy are really into learning their colours right now. Their favourite books are colour books, they really love guessing the colours of their lunch plates, etc. So I thought if I started planning some themes to teach them a particular colour, one at a time, it might make it easier on them to learn. So what I'm looking for is advice. I know everyone on here has great ideas, and I would love to learn from your experience and education. Sorry, that sounds really cheesy, but it's true.
    What do you do for colour activities aimed at children that are almost two year olds? I should add, we've painted the snow outside with liquid water colours, and they thoroughly enjoyed that. I don't think they actually cared what colours the snow ended up being. They just loved getting paint everywhere (which was really the point anyways)

Outgoing
    We did a rainbow unit earlier in the year, mainly just different "color themed" activities (like a red collage, sensory bins with objects of all the same color), but the kids were really into color mixing - mixing the primary colors to make secondary ones and mixing primaries with white. We did this with normal paint, finger paint, and colored water even putting food coloring into food (colored pasta, pancakes, etc).

Euphoric !