Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

New Her with a Question

Hi everyone! I found this site a couple of weeks ago and have been looking around for all kinds of advice. I am new to the home daycare thing but I have been a teacher for a number of years, however we recently moved provinces and when we did, I changed careers.

My question is I just started a little guy (16mos) who has NEVER been away from mom and dad. He screams all day (so much that he makes himself gag on a regular basis). I can't hold him or sit with him without him screaming. It doesn't matter what I do. This is only his second day so I know I have to give it time, but just thought I would ask for advice.

The other thing is that he does not eat food, he gets formula bottles every three hours. I find this strange at 16 months, but I haven't had this age around the house for a while. Yesterday, he didn't nap AT ALL and he wouldn't take a bottle from me. So by the end of the day, we were all exhausted (myself, my son and my two other dc kids).

Any advice? Thanks for listening!

Starting to feel at home...
    Sounds like he is not daycare ready. Have you talked to the parents about his crying or asked if there is a feeding issue?

Shy
    Oh my! That sounds tough! I agree with the no food thing, so strange. Have you talked to the mom about it? Does he eat at home?

I find going for walks seems to help some kids, fresh air & distraction.

I had a child cry for almost 6 weeks, every single day...but she ate & slept, eventually the crying just stopped one day. I went about my day and reassured her regularly...she eventually adjusted and is now one of the easiest going children.

Earplugs maybe?

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to daisy For This Useful Post:

Shy