Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Outgoing

Possibly Nearing the End

I have been providing home daycare for nearly 4 years, since my son was 1. Well I have had the same crew and they have all grown up together, plus my 2 little ones also born into daycare land. One of whom is still an infant who wakes up throughout the night. So I have 5 dcks, and 3 of my own.
    My main stress is that I do not get a break anymore.
    The kids range from 4 months - 5.5yrs.
    So of the 8 kids, only 3 of them nap. so I usually have 5 up all. freaking. day.
    Their ages are: 3 yrs, 4yrs x 3 & 5.5yrs
    I am so exhausted by the end of every day I am starting to lose it.
    I so badly miss 'naptime'. When all the kids would sleep and I would get a couple hours of peace and quiet to myself and to my housework etc.
    In Sept I am not planning on taking new kids just yet. I think I need to cool off and start fresh with a new group of infants/toddlers who nap so I can continue to enjoy what I do.
    I know there are pros and cons of having mixed group or a group the same aged, what are your thoughts?

Starting to feel at home...
    Enforce a rest period. Give the oldest a nap bag with quiet activities, a quiet place (away from you) where they must stay until rest period is over.

I would enforce a mandatory lie down for the others. At least 30 mins, if they are still up after that, quiet activities. If they don't stay quiet, back to the mat.