Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

Looking into opening a day home for shift workers

Hi ladies,

I am brand new here, so let me introduce myself. I am an RN by trade and my hubby is a cook, so due to having two shift workers we have had some major child care challenges. We have 2 boys ages 5 and 2. As if life is not busy enough I a now looking into opening a day home privately that will cater to shift workers and families that need extended care. I need some tips and tricks and works of advice. I am only looking at taking in 2 kids, maybe 3 at the most. The few families that I have spoken to already work days (some work 12 hours shifts), nights and evenings. I am also stumped on how to price a 12-14 hour day…same foes for the nights? Advice? Any words of advice or encouragement would be most appreciated!

Shy
    Most daycares/dayhomes are built on a strict mon-friday typical business like hours. The reason behind this is to not get pushed over by parents. By opening flex hours, parents have the choice to to choose hours not you. What may work for one parent, may not work for another.you could be working 24/hours for three different parents shifts. You would get burnt out and you need time to clean and prep for the children. Remember thst you need personal family time too or else you burn out.

Most dayhomes dont do this type of flex hours because parents can easily control your business if your not strict enough. You need a strict hours set. If someone gets off work at 11pm-12 am how will this affect your household? Its very hard to be strict but flexible to parents needs. This is best to hire a nanny for this type of childcare.

However if you stick to your hours...
    You can do a standard flat rate for evenings and overnight and charge more because it is harder to get.