Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Starting to feel at home...

Inquiries from clients looking to secure a spot a year in advance?

Hey!
    I am opening my daycare and looking for 2 kiddies for October and 1 for January. I just need some guidance as I am a newbie! I have received some interest (yay!) but one is looking to secure a spot for April 2015. That is almost an entire year away, and I just don't know what will be happening at that point. I could be full, I may not be. What is your experience with something like this? I haven't replied back yet so hoping to get some guidance and direction from those who are seasoned

Euphoric !
    No way. Only if they pay a deposit AND pay for you to keep a space empty for them until April (which is just stupid). Who looks for care 10months in advance? They won't even know what type of care they need in 10months. For all they know they will have moved, or a parent will have been laid off, or their child will need a nanny due to xyz.

Tell them to check back with you in January/February to see if you will have a space available and if you will then interview them then...don't waste your time now.

Well said. Thanks Lee-Bee!

One more thing: do you think it would be smart to advertise for my Jan space now? or should I just focus on securing October kiddies?

Euphoric !
    Just tell the family that they can be added to your waiting list for April unless they are willing to pay for the spot now.