Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Shy

Unhappy HELP Bad sleeping habits, unable to self sooth!

This is my first time posting but I'm desperate for some advice. I have a new child who just started daycare. Child is rocked fully to sleep at home and also naps on dad on weekends. The child is great and I really like the parents they are easy to talk to and I have spoken to them, have asked them for help because it is a team effort. I run a multi age daycare and have one other that naps and 2 older who no longer nap. My issue is I can't rock and spend a lot of time getting the child to sleep usually I would let the child cry themselves to sleep but this child climbs out of the crib . I don't want the child to get hurt. I have gotten the child to fall asleep by himself by sitting in a chair across the room, but he only slept for 20 min because he doesn't know how to self sooth. Should I keep this up and hope this is teaching him how to sleep? Do you think this is causing bad habits? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Oh my gosh, that is so tough. Poor you. How old is child? If climbing out of crib, I think he is old enough to understand if you keep laying him down in the crib (and firmly say 'sleep time') whenever you hear him try to get out. Hoping parents get board at home too to help this child succeed on self soothing.
    Children are great imitators.
    So give them something great to imitate.

~Anonymous~

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Dreamalittledream For This Useful Post:

Euphoric !