Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

Question Receipts/taxes for private dayhomes - Alberta

Hi there,
    I'm new to the dayhome world. I've worked in childcare for over 5 years and I am currently the program director at an out of school care program but I am quitting my job to start a dayhome so I can spend more time with my son. I plan to open November 1, I just don't know exactly how to go about it. How do taxes and receipts work for a private dayhome? I always thought you had to be licensed to claim anything but my research today proves otherwise. Do we have to pay in each month? Or just do a claim at tax time? I did read canada revenue's booklet on what you can claim.

Thank you in advance!!

Euphoric !
    I give out receipts at the end of the year or when a family leaves. All money you receive needs to be claimed. Then you calculate what you owe at income tax time. I suggest getting a good accountant to help you so you claim everything you can.

Is it usually a lot that ends up being owed? And do you claim each month or just at the end of the year?

Outgoing
    You file your taxes once a year like any other person, you'll just owe taxes then on everything you've made that year. I suggest taxing yourself, ie, setting money aside from every payday or every month into a separate account so that you don't end up owing a ton come April. You will be charged CPP too, and since you're self-employed, you pay 14%. (Most people pay 7% and their employer pays the other 7%, but we don't have employers, so we pay both)