Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

Termination problem

Hello everyone, This is my first time posting!
    I am having a problem with a set of parents. I terminated their 3 children a 2 year old boy and 1 year old twins due problems they are having with the 2 year old at home.He is hitting his mother and talking back to her . I don't have any problems with him whatsoever They are bringing their problems to me and blaming my daughter and my other daycare children for his bad behaviour . I gave them 4 weeks notice on October 30 for 4 weeks, that is in my contract.
    They found a spot at a center daycare for the 2 year old(his last day was friday) and now are not paying me for his spot and are paying me weekly for the twins until they find them a spot.
    correct me if i'm wrong are they not supposed to pay you for the entire 4 weeks regardless if they find spots.

Euphoric !
    Technically they have to pay what your contract says...and your contract needs to be very clear and concise so there is no wiggle room to get out of payment. BUT, since I always have parents pay 2 weeks in advance of care I only had a 2 week notice needed...as it is much harder to collect 4 weeks of payment once the child is gone then the typical 2 weeks. If you want the money for the 2yrs old you will likely have to threaten to not provide care for the twins while they search for other care...so they have a reason to pay. They pay for all 3 spots or forfeit all 3 spots immediately. This again, will depend on what the signed contract states.

Euphoric !