Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Starting to feel at home...

Dealing with a death

Have you ever had to close without much notice to attend a funeral? Or did you miss the funeral??

Expansive...
    I have no experience with this, but I am sorry for your loss.

Expansive...
    I have closed with short notice due to a funeral. In my policies I have it in the same section as closure due to illness.

Starting to feel at home... FSD's Avatar
    I'm sorry for your loss. I have no experience with this but for me, family always comes first. I would think that your daycare parents would understand the short notice.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to FSD For This Useful Post:

Euphoric !
    Sorry for your loss. I have personal/sick days in my contract and would use those. I would weigh how I think I would feel if I missed the funeral or made alternate arrangements such as did care till 2pm knowing I could then make it to the cemetery for the interment and reception with the family as in find a way to do most of both events. At the same time I would have to know that emotionally I was capable of doing daycare that day - again based on my relationship. Do not let family shame you or harass you into thinking you have to close daycare just because. You will not be the only person that had to work that day. But if you feel that you need to be there then let your parents know as soon as you can, offer them a friend with a space if you know of any so they are not stuck and do not feel guilty because dealing with family issues is part of life.

7. The Following User Says Thank You to playfelt For This Useful Post: