Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Shy

20 Month Old Still On Purees & Barely Self Feeding Spoon

Hi everyone! I'm new to posting but have been referencing this forum for months and I always appreciate the advice and tips I find.

I'm fairly new to the daycare provider world and think I let this situation go on way too long already because of my lack of experience. I ask parents to provide lunch and I provide snacks. My snacks usually consist of a fruit/veggie and some sort of carbohydrate and protein (ex. veggies & dip with cheese & crackers, fruit yogurt with an arrowroot, fruit with bagel & cream cheese, etc).

I have a 20 month old dcb who is still on purees and can barely spoon feed himself. He also refuses to eat any fresh fruits and veggies at snack time no matter how I cut them. I've tried preparing them in from of him, taking a bite, touching it to his lips, but he will not eat any of it. He will not eat cheese or yogurt either (although mom says he eats yogurt at home, but it sounds like if he doesn't like the flavour, she'll try a different one until he'll eat it). At snack he will only eat the carb portion like crackers, muffins, banana bread, cheerios, toast, etc.

Just this week I (again) brought up the topic with mom telling her I'm researching and brainstorming ways to encourage dcb to eat h at sis fruits and veggies and try new things at snack time. She is very nice but is hard to read and doesn't say much when I bring up my concerns. I don't think it bothers her that he only eats carbs at snack time. Probably because she knows he gets his fruits and veggies at lunch. Which brings me to my next issue...