Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Am I crazy?

Starting to feel at home...

Am I crazy?

I have worked out of the house for many years and have always enjoyed my job. I have a university degree, I make good money, have full benefits and a pension, vacation and sick time, work normal 8 hour days, and get along well with the people I work with. So, it's probably not surprising that when people hear that I want to open a home-based daycare, they think I'm a little crazy. After all, less money, no benefits or pension, long hours, no adult conversations and being cooped up most days in the house with a bunch of kids. Yet, I feel like it's the right role for me.

Am I crazy?? Will I regret this decision? People say to me that it will probably be harder to get back into my current line of work if I leave it for a few years. Has anyone else been in this position (e.g. chosen to be a daycare provider after being in a completely different profession (which is well paying and has lots of perks) for several years? Are you happy that you did it?

Euphoric !
    Yes, it sounds a bit crazy!

WHY are you making this change? Are you unhappy at your current job? Trying to be home with your kids? Want to be working with a small group of children? Avoiding a crappy daily commute?

What is the reason for leaving a pension, well paying job and benefits etc behind?

Are you married..will you have benefits through your husband once working at home? Will you be able to afford mortgage and living expenses when you are not full? It can take up to a year in some areas to reach full capacity do you have the means to be without your income that long?