Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

Business license for an unlicensed home daycare

Hi! This is my first time posting, I'm opening my home daycare in Toronto Ontario, and I have a few questions. I'm wondering if it's legal to register for a business licence for an unlicensed home daycare. If not, how do I go about paying taxes for my income? Also, what are the requirements to have your home daycare licenced? Do you need to have your ECE? Also, how do you provide receipts for your clients? Thank you in advance!

You can register your business name to get a business number, but don't have to. At tax time you claim as a "self-employed child care provider".
    For receipts you can just use a receipt book you get at the dollar store. You need to give receipts upon request now (its the law) not just at the end of the year. I have every one pay via EMT so they can print off a copy for their records when they send it, then I do a detailed receipt on my computer at the end of the year or end of care. You can find a sample of my receipt and other daycare related forms at www.homedaycarebusiness.weebly.com

To become a licenced home daycare you need to join a "Licenced Home Daycare Agency" there are good things and bad things in doing this. So I would interview all the agencies in your area. Ask lots of questions, even if you think you know the answer. such as: Can I still take on private clients? When is pay day? (most that I know of pay you on the 15th of the month for the work you did the month before)