Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread

Pressure to switch dayhomes to grandma

I thought this would be the best section to post my question in.

My DD is with a great dayhome now through an agency, partially subsidized. I'm a FT student until 2018. My MIL is in the process of starting a day home. My daughter has a great relationship with grandma but I have no desire to have her care for DD full time for various reasons.

I'm positive she will suggest I switch over to her when she's ready and I'm preparing my case so to speak. Anyone heard of this kind of arrangement? I'm kind of hoping it won't be allowed just to avoid any drama. We do not live in the same house and I couldn't afford care without the subsidy.
    Last edited by 1sttimer; 11-25-2016 at 11:46 AM.

Euphoric !
    Children who spend lot of time with grandparents, suffer from Grandma-itis. This is a condition were they become incapable of doing things for themselves and a little bratty. Yes, lot of Grandma's step up but it not often work out.

Going to grandma become routine and not something look forward to. Grandma can feel little resentful over time because she feel she raised her family and now doing again and with best intention, grandma not have same boundaries and expectation have with other day care child.

It is allowed - as long as your child included in ratio. If you paying for her place, then grandma can at least claim business cost relating to your child. If grandma is doing for free, then she not able claim business expenses on child who not bringing in income. Can't pay tax on 4 and slip in expense from 5 children.