Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Lightbulb Avoiding the contract...

Good afternoon... I'm new here and hoping this will be a great source of information for my new home daycare. I have two children in my care and the mother does not seem to want to sign a contract... I have tried several times to politely let her know that it is for both of our best interests but still nothing. She says "tomorrow" a lot.
    I know that I need to be more firm but I feel bad that these kids have been in 4 daycares already (only 3years old!) and I get the feeling that the mother is the issue.... I have contract work available to me (I'm a medical office admin by trade) but wanted something that was stable and I can't keep going on with no insurance that this family will be in my care.... any advice?

Shy
    I've allways made it simple for parents. There is simply no care without a contract. My contract also holds all the child's info such as emergency contacts and alergys information. I even have drop in sign a contract.

If she doesn't sign, she doesn't get care. Its that simple.

This job is anything but stable. just because they sign a contract doesn't mean they will be with you long. "full at drop off, empty by close" is a saying that is used a lot in this business. You never now when a family will give you notice.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to BlueRose For This Useful Post:

Yes, I have a few girlfriends that have been doing care for some time and they have told me to remember the red flags. This family has quite a few ... having a contract makes me feel like I have a little security ... though maybe a false one.