Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

Vacation pay in London Ontario

To London caregivers,

Do you charge for the vacation/sick days that you take? How many days do you take per year? I'm new to London. In Toronto, it was the norm to be paid for vacation/sick days. I had a parent tell me during an interview that they were surprised that I charge for vacation days as that is not the norm in London. I changed my policy to unpaid. Then had another parent tell me that they just thought they would be paying for vacation. So now I'm confused of what the norm is here.

Also what is your rate? I'm wondering if there is a relationship between the amount you charge and whether you charge for vacation days or not. I.e. if your rate is high, then you don't charge for vacation days and vice versa.

Thanks.

Starting to feel at home...
    I'm not in London, but in my area there isn't a norm. Every provider seems to have slightly different price and policies depending on their program. The established dayhomes that are in demand tend to do paid vacation/sick time as a perk. I've been open 2 years, and charge on the higher end because of extras in my programming, but I only take stats/holidays as paid (14 paid holidays in my contract).

3. The Following User Says Thank You to kindredspirit For This Useful Post:

Outgoing