Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

Working for more than 8 hours

Hi everyone,

I am going to open Family Care in BC. Just realize that so many care providers offer more than 8 hours! In my small town, I have heard other care providers offer 10 hours. I used to be preschool teacher, only work for 7 hours. I cannot imagine I need to work 9 or 10 hours each day. Some of you must be dead tired by the end of the day!

This is my first time to run family care. I don't know how to set up the options for Drop-in, half day and full day. What if majority of the parents like drop-in option, what should I do? And is it too late to open my centre in November?

Starting to feel at home...
    It's never too late-parents look for care year round-starting a new job, ending may leave, etc. I deal with the long hours by my day's structure. I didn't like part time, because I was working everyday for very little money. I think next year I might do morning preschool only, so I can put more hours into my other career (right now I work there 1-2 days a month).

My 'program' runs 8-4, but I have children here 7:40-5:20. Free play before and after. I do Montessori morning preschool from 8-11:45, 8-11 is our work cycle, including a snack tray, and after we go outside until the am only children leave. Then lunch and quiet time for the full day children. 1-2 is my break. At 2, the toddlers stay napping, and the 3+ group goes outside to meet the bus (I have after schoolers that fill the other half of am preschool spaces). We play in the yard, go in for a snack, homework, then when the toddlers are up we either go outside or (rarely) do a group activity. So while my mornings are hands on, requiring lots of prep, after my break it's all downhill from there. After 4:45, I just have my own kids and a 6yo.