Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
    Shy

1st week of center opening

I used to work at preschool. This is my first time to run a program at home. I can have 8 children in my program. How did you manage all new children on your 1st week or couple weeks? I am sure that you had some kids were crying, some were fine. I used to have assistance to help me but now I am doing solo. worrying about that. Or should i do couple hours for some children who have tough time to start?

Another question is what are your interview questions that need to ask and clue to find good parents to support your program?

Thank you very much in advance for all the suggestions !
    Last edited by Love&care; 11-12-2017 at 03:08 PM.

Euphoric !
    How did you manage all new children on your 1st week or couple weeks?
    It will take a full year to fill all your spaces with quality client's so the odds of opening on day one, with a full quota are low.

If you are lining up children now for a future opening date, I would seriously consider phasing them in over a few weeks. Transitioning a new child is still the hardest part of the job. The new children often follow the herd in the first few weeks which helps. To have potentially 8, none knowing the lay out or the routine while you are also adjusting might not be the wisest move - for yourself, your clients or the children.

I would take them in two at a time, allow a couple weeks to find your rhythm and to tweak your routine and then add in the next two.

Personally. I don't like the couple hours gradual phase in. It's fake situation, more like a play date and it's confusing to the others as to why one child is leaving a couple hours after coming.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Suzie_Homemaker For This Useful Post:

Euphoric !