Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Where do you change diapers?

Dear colleagues,

I need your advise. As I am new to daycare business, I have tons of wierd questions. One of them is how and where to change diapers. I would avoid changing table as it scares me alot. Can I do in on the floor, using special soft mat on top of protecting sheet? Ikea has it. But how to avoid germs to spread? Do you use wipes only? Where your changing station is? Won's parents be not very much impressed if I do not have changing table?

Euphoric !
    Quote Originally Posted by Solangio View Post
    Dear colleagues,

I need your advise. As I am new to daycare business, I have tons of wierd questions. One of them is how and where to change diapers. I would avoid changing table as it scares me alot. Can I do in on the floor, using special soft mat on top of protecting sheet? Ikea has it. But how to avoid germs to spread? Do you use wipes only? Where your changing station is? Won's parents be not very much impressed if I do not have changing table?
    Ideally you would have a changing table with a mat that has a cover which can be wiped after changing each child. All the better if that can be in a room where there`s a sink for handwashing but not all washrooms have that much space. Just outside would also work. There`s no reason to be scared since you are never leaving a child unattended during a diaper change. What scares you about it?

Worst case, I guess you could us the mat on the floor but check your provincial requirements first. I know some provinces require the changing area to be in a room with a sink dedicated to handwashing.