Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Forum control
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Shy

Is charging $50 per day too much for a licensed home daycare in Manitoba?

Hi,

I am just starting out, and beginning the process of becoming licensed. I would like to charge $40 or $50 per day. I want to charge this amount as I feel that I would be offering an excellent service, and I only want to have 4 or 5 kids. Asking this price will allow me to make a living wage. I realize that not everyone will be able to afford this price, and it seems that the going rate is $30 in Winnipeg.

Does anyone know of licensed home daycares operating with this rate?

Thanks for your help!

Kali

Euphoric !
    Well to my knowledge licensed in mb is allowed 5 preschoolers with no more than 3 under 2 and your other 3 spots are for school aged children, so regardless of fee, you will only have up to 5 paying that anyways wouldn't you? The school aged children usually pay a lot less IME.

$50 a day is too much IMO and you will likely have an extremely hard time filling spaces. I'm in Brandon and charge $32 but it ranges from $20-$35 here. I think you could try $35 but any higher and you will price yourself out of parents options.

Outgoing
    I don't know, it seems high. On the other hand, Winnipeg is pretty big. You might be able to find 4 or 5 families that would pay it. It might take a while, if it happens at all. And then if they ever leave, you might be waiting a long time again to replace them. I charged $35 when I was private, but I doubt I could have charged even a dollar more.

Shy