3.5k
Daycare and childcare providers in Winnipeg, Toronto, Vancouver, Ontario etc. in CanadaGarderies à Montréal ou au QuébecFind daycare or childcare providers in the USA
Summary
Average rating (from 0 to 4)

Last 6 months N.A.
Last 12 months N.A.
Last 24 months N.A.
Listing 8 reviews

Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

Daycare centre / preschool

Not available,
Edmonton, T6E1W6
Alberta, Canada
Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare
Email: not available
Tel.: not available
Visit website

Parents' reviews
(8 reviews posted)

Review this provider!

Warning: The accuracy of these reviews has not been verified; they only reflect the opinion of the parents who posted them. You should always do your own investigation. If you need any help, we invite you to read our guide on Choosing the right daycare provider.
Legend - 0: with deficiencies | 2: adequate | 4: first-class provider
+0 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"Not Safe – Very Poor safety standards
They left my 10 month old baby at the entrance door then a staff member let the heavy metal door go in which baby caught her hand because of which Baby has permanent damages to her fingers and has lost a finger nail.
After the accident this daycare was not prepared and interested to provide any medical help so I had to call the ambulance myself and take my baby to the strollery hospital to get medical treatment.
They just left the baby bleeding and crying. My child had to suffer so much of pain because of their negligence.
Daycare owner says, these accidents happen everyday at her daycare, its normal for babies to get injured at her daycare. She said, if parents dont like it, they can keep babies at home.
Now when exposed this daycare owner is providing benefits and discounts to whoever would stand up for her in supporting child injuries incidents.
Safety is a serious concern at this daycare.
This daycare owner is not following standard procedures of daycare safety."
Umesh (64.180.229....), Jun 10th 2018
+4 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"My experience with Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare could not have been better. Staff are very knowledgeable and caring, you can see they love what they do and your kid happiness is the proof of that. Their program is very broad, including different activities (crafts, music, show and tell, pajama’s day, circle time …), field trips and always making sure that kids spend time outside (weather permitting). They have a cooker that provides them with a great variety of food, always following the Canadian food guidelines. That made my life way easier, so I knew my kid was always getting delicious and nutritious food and I did not have to pack anything. Their communication is very nice, they have a monthly newsletter that they send to parents and they also send you weekly updates and menu. They are very approachable and quick in resolving any issues that may arise. Yesterday, after almost 3 years in the center, it was time for my daughter to leave to start a new chapter, they grow up so fast. She cried so much, she said she would like to stay there forever. I would like to thank Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare for being part of my daughter’s life and help her to grow and become this special kid. The memories of her time there will be in her heart forever, along with the friends she created and we hope to keep for years to come. Thank you!"
Anelise (198.161.9....), Aug 1st 2017
+4 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"My daughter, now five years old, has been for one year at Tender Loving Daycare after being advised to do so. We never had to regret it. On the opposite we noticed, besides the great food that they prepare to the kids, that she was never hurt, was always happy in the morning to go and meet her teacher and little friends and learned to behave, to share and so on which was an important expectation. The staff is truly friendly and caring. We did not either have to worry about cleanliness."
Anonymous (174.3.214....), Sep 25th 2015
+3 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"I have 1 child in this daycare and have been very happy with the level of care. My child started a year ago in the infant room at age one. The staff there was absolutely exceptional. Just top notch ladies that really care and provide a lot of information to parents. My child has since moved into the toddler room which has been a bit more chaotic as there are more kids. I have found the care to be still at a very good level and I find my child is learning a lot. I know they really keep them active and busy. I am very impressed with the cleanliness of the daycare and the meals. The meals they get are just wonderful and I find my son's eating is not picky, likely because of the variety of foods they provide. I agree with previous reviewers that pick up and drop off is chaotic. But I understand why. All staff cannot be present from 7:30 am until 5:30 pm as this would make for a very long day. Overall this is a very fine daycare center with wonderful staff. They all know my little guy's name and it feels like a family."
Anonymous (142.229.107....), Jun 8th 2015
+4 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"We have had our DS at Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare for about 10 months now. I am very pleased with the level of care that he has received and am impressed that he has experienced no turnover in staff - which I think speaks volumes about the quality of the centre in terms of how they treat their staff (I've never asked, but I hope the director pays the staff a decent salary and not the bare minimum as the women who work at STLD are exceptional. They are very knowledgeable about child development and truly care about the children). I agree with some of the other reviewers that drop-offs around 8:00 can be chaotic - I really noticed it in the summertime - perhaps staff were away on holidays? We are also anticipating the return of the full-time cook as she makes wonderful meals for the children that are very nutritious and delicious. I too appreciate the open-concept design of the daycare. To me this keeps everything more transparent for the adults while the children still feel like they are in rooms. I appreciate how tidy the staff keep the daycare and the amount of effort they put into disinfecting everything. While I can certainly understand why some of the parents have expressed concern about ratios or whether staff should also be cleaning (personally I am more comfortable with the staff cleaning than getting some anonymous company in that doesn't care as much), I have never ever doubted the wellbeing of my child at STLD - if I did he wouldn't be going there."
Anonymous (198.166.38....), Sep 30th 2014
+3 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"Our child started with STLD almost a year ago at 1 year old. We have been very pleased with her development and how the daycare staff is with all the children.
However, I do have two issues; dropping off our child in the morning (prior to 8am) is always chaotic. The children are all in one room and it appears that there is not enough staff per child ratio. If we adjust our time to get there earlier to ease the transition, it still does not help, as it appears that staff is occupied with other duties. In almost one year, I have yet to arrive at work on time. My second concern is at the end of the day. Once again, there is chaos. Staff members are running around trying to clean floors with mops and vacuums while there are still children playing and parents coming and going. It is difficult to get any information from the staff members as to how your child's day went and if there were any issues. I can sincerely appreciate how hard the staff looks after our children during the day, and that they are anxious to also end their days too, but I have on occasion seen children trying to play with the mop bucket water! In the end I wish there was enough funding for the daycare to hire cleaners after the children have gone for the day."
Anonymous (64.141.8....), Sep 30th 2014
+4 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"This site was recommended to me by 3 different people. When I went for a tour I was very impressed with the Assistant Director, she knew all the kids by name, was very informative & open to questions. The open concept of the “rooms”, as well as the uniqueness of the pre-kinder room was another selling feature for me. The daycare has expanded since & the new rooms are lovely. The whole place is bright & clean. The staff are educated in child development. They’re all super friendly, nurturing & are absolutely great with the kids. Many have been there since the center has opened, which speaks volumes to me. I also feel that the Owner/Director genuinely cares about the children in her center. I’m always pleased with the menu at the daycare, it offers a nice variety & is posted weekly so you always know what they’re eating. During the nice weather the kids go out as often as 2 times a day. The play areas are a bit small but my kids still seem to have fun. The center encourages family members to participate in events (ie volunteer for fieldtrips etc), which for me is a great way to stay connected with my children, it helps me to get to know their friends & the staff better too. I also love the fact that they have a musician come in on “Music Mondays” & that a staff member of the EPL comes & does a story time. Great partnering with the community!!"
C.B. (198.161.230....), Sep 25th 2014
+3 Childcare provider: Strathcona Tender Loving Daycare

I obtained services from this daycare centre / preschool and I find that:

"We have kids in this day care and we are very happy with this centre.
Teachers are very good, caring, kids love them. The place is new and well maintained, rooms are well equipped for different ages. Administrative stuff is very considerate.
The daycare has a very limited outside playground. There is a small backyard (not adjacent to the building) and a few small frontyards (adjacent) where kids play. We feel that kids don't spend enough time outside, but they still go out almost everyday weather allowed.
Food: they used to have a cook onsite (that is on mat leave now) and the food was excellent. Right now it's catered by somebody else and is not as good as before but still decent.
I personally feel uncomfortable that teachers are the ones to clean the rooms at the end of the day, but it seems to be a common practice.
Overall I would recommend this day care."
Anonymous (198.166.36....), Sep 23rd 2014
Daycare in Edmonton

A few tips...

If you encounter a daycare provider with out-of-date openings / spaces, click on the button right above the currently listed openings to report it!
Updates
We expect providers to keep their listing and available openings up-to-date. However, to prevent oversights, openings expire after 45 days.
Partner in your
search for a daycare provider